Ecotherapy and Climate Conscious Therapy Training and Consultation for Mental Health Professionals. The next series begins in April 2024.

Level I Group: A 10-session online group for mental health practitioners and other professionals seeking expert guidance and peer support for ecotherapy, climate-conscious therapy. A key value is Dr. Thomas Doherty’s integration of environmental and conservation psychology concepts not covered in traditional counseling or therapy programs. The group meets weekly for 80 minutes, is presented in English, and open to participants worldwide. 

Group meetings include educational topics, case consultation, role-plays, self care activities, and tips for professional practice building. All slides and materials are available. No previous eco or climate therapy experience is required.

Level II Group: This group provides ongoing support and professional development for graduates of the Level 1 series, including practitioners, researchers and educators.

Attendee Feedback:

 “… I just wanted to say thank you. I have been thoroughly enjoying the course and have found it very useful. I don’t want it to end so soon! It has been so affirming to have the topics and concepts that I have been thinking about and trying to research presented in a well-rounded and accessible way. Also to connect with others who care about this area, as it can be isolating. It has definitely helped give me some more perspective about how to sustainably manage my ‘practice map’.”

Spring 2022 Attendee

Contact Dr. Thomas Doherty to discuss how this group can help you.

Group Topics

Dr. Doherty presents key topics that support effective mental health practices in a variety of settings:

  • Ethics for Ecotherapy and Climate-focused Counseling and Therapy
  • Mental Health Impacts of Climate Change & Opportunities for Engagement by Mental Health Providers
  • Psychological Tools for Managing Eco-stress and anxiety (including practitioner self care)
  • Experiencing a Range of Emotions about Nature and the Environment
  • Developing Environmental Identity with a Multicultural and Justice Lens
  • Recognizing and Working with Diverse Environmental Values
  • Family Influences and Parenting
  • Restorative Natural Settings, Outdoor and Walking Therapy, and Nature-based Stress Reduction
  • Cognitive Scripts that Drive Eco-anxiety and Despair and How to Counter These
  • Supporting Grief and Mourning
  • Adapting Commonly Used Cognitive-Behavioral, Psychodynamic and other Therapy Styles
  • Promoting Effective Environmental Actions and Climate Adaptation
  • Arts, Spirituality and Life Transcendent Goals
  • Expert tips for facilitating Climate Cafes
  • Special Considerations for University Counseling Centers

Dates:

The next series begins in April 2024. Contact Dr. Thomas Doherty to enroll.

Cohorts (time examples):

WEDNESDAYS

  • 9 AM Pacific (12 PM Eastern / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST)
  • 1:30 PM Pacific (4:30 PM Eastern / 7:30 AM AEST Next Day)
  • 3:30 PM Pacific (6:30 PM Eastern / 9:30 AM AEST Next Day)

THURSDAYS

  • 9 AM Pacific (12 PM Eastern / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST)
  • 1:30 PM Pacific (4:30 PM Eastern / 7:30 AM AEST Next Day)
  • 3:30 PM Pacific (6:30 PM Eastern / 9:30 AM AEST Next Day)

Fees:

The cost of the consultation group series is based on one’s ability to pay:

750.00 / 950 / 1200.00 US

Contact Dr. Thomas Doherty to enroll or to tailor groups for your organization.